Timeline

Hi everyone,

I will be starting PA school in August so obviously a long way out from the hiring process {given all things go well}. However, I just was curious as to the average timeline when it comes to graduating and beginning your first job? I know it will depend on many factors, such as a large hospital system or a small private practice. But assuming I took the PANCE and passed very shortly after graduation and had already accepted a job offer prior to graduation, what is the expected timeline? Hope this question makes sense. Lol thanks guys!

I graduated at the end of August of this year. I moved to a new city after school and have had some difficulty finding a position. I am wrapping up my search now, but credentialing can take up to 3 months so it may be 6 months after I graduated until I start. Some of my classmates just started work in the same city as our school recently, so about 2-3 months of waiting time. 

11 minutes ago, inexperiencedPA123 said:

I graduated at the end of August of this year. I moved to a new city after school and have had some difficulty finding a position. I am wrapping up my search now, but credentialing can take up to 3 months so it may be 6 months after I graduated until I start. Some of my classmates just started work in the same city as our school recently, so about 2-3 months of waiting time. 

What exactly goes on during this "credentialing" process?

2 minutes ago, OneDayPA-C said:

What exactly goes on during this "credentialing" process?

Haven't been through it yet but from what I hear its all onboarding with the hospitals. Verifying that you actually went to school, have your license, background checks, basically just making sure you are who you say you are. Also getting all your privileges to practice at certain hospitals. Just paperwork, paperwork, and more paperwork. And a lot of times they only meet once a month, sometimes even quarterly to review all of this.