How honest is too honest.

So I have my first interview coming up and the past couple of months I have spent a lot of time introspectively analyzing my past, reasons for attempting this profession and future goals.  I know I will be asked questions about "Why PA..." and "Tell me about a time you were challenged..." and so forth.  I'm a non-traditional student with a good deal of "life experience." I want to appear as honest and genuine as possible in my interview, which may mean laying it all out on the table (Which can also be difficult for me because I am an emotionally reserved person) but I also don't want to appear jaded or cynical or give off a negative "vibe." I'm ex military and currently a paramedic so I could sit and tell war-stories all day about challenges I've faced and difficult times including but not limited mass-casualty incidents in Iraq, The never ending phone calls about comrades who have killed themselves or overdosed to the point of anoxic brain injury or helplessly watching people die in my ambulance....but are these things too negative for an interview? I don't think there is any "one" event that set me on a path to PA school but more an accumulation of experiences since the military.  I'm thinking of using my re-entry into the civilian world as an anecdote for a "challenge" I've faced because it was difficult but has a positive outcome. Does anybody have any thoughts or suggestions on this matter. Thank you in advance.

I am sure in addition to the hardships and challenges you have faced you have also made a difference in other people's lives. Talk about positive or inspiring moments from your experience as a medic, when your actions improved a patient's medical condition. Link your time in the military to demonstrating your ability to work as part of a team, communicate well with others, and dedicate yourself.