Advice needed

I'm an ex premed student, and I just switched over to pre-pa this summer (I'm a rising senior in college). Anyway, I have LOTS of shadowing hours, but it's my understanding that schools disregard these in favor for actual clinical experience. I am EMT certified, so I'm planning on taking a gap year in order to work for EMS, and acquire the needed experience. 

However, I'm worried about money. The average salary for EMTs in my area is only about $14 per hour, and I'll need to start making student loan payments during my gap year... And then I'll have to pay for school applications. I'll for sure have a roommate to help cut down on living expenses, but I'm kind of freaking out about it all. 

I'm not even sure if this is the appropriate forum to ask such a question, but I'd really appreciate some advice-- especially from those who have been through this sort of thing. Up until recently I'd just assumed that I'd be in medical school, living off of loans... And now everything is just really uncertain. 

So this is obviously not the best way to handle this situation, but for me and my family (wife and 2 kids) it was best for us. I enrolled in an online masters of science in teaching secondary biology. The program was fairly affordable and allowed me to take some graduate level bio to boost my application while working full time.
I took out 4 grand in loans and paid for some myself. But the whole motivation behind this was that it deferred my loans. Again, taking on more debt to avoid paying loans for awhile sounds crazy but we just would not have been able afford it then.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That's actually a great idea-- I hadn't thought of that! Does completing a program like that increase your chances of being accepted?

I think that PA programs in general value a well rounded applicant. But you can't escape the fact that it is a profession built on having previous medical experience.