Am I missing something? Direct Entry FNP vs PA.

I feel like I'm missing something here, so I'd really like some input on my understanding of the choices in front of me.

I have been working for the last 6 years or so to complete my undergraduate degree with the intent on going to medical or PA school.  I wrapped up my degree in public safety management and began to lay the pathways out for medical school and PA school and found that the pre-requisites were nearly identical.  As I was lamenting over which pathway I should go, I caught wind of a direct entry FNP program at a local, respected university.  I spoke with a student advisor who said that the workload during school was 1 day per week in the classroom and 12 hours per week of clinicals, and that as long as I had some flexibility in my job (I do), it's not hard to work full-time while attending their program.  The pre-requisites; anatomy and physiology, microbiology, pharmacology, and an STNA certification... (sadly, my experience as a paramedic doesn't count for STNA)..

So my current plan is to wrap up my pre-reqs for NP school (should take another 3 semesters), complete the FNP course, obtain an ACNP certificate on top of that, at which point I'll have my years in to retire from the fire dept.  My goal is to work in a semi-rural hospital near where I live either in the ED or as a hospitalist.

While I do understand that the FNP training is far less rigorous, I also feel I am an open minded person when it comes to identifying my own knowledge gaps and then working to teach myself in areas that I am deficient.  

So, seriously, tear my plan apart.  No this isn't a "looks like you've made up your mind" type of post where I'm just looking for validation, I honestly feel like these direct entry FNP programs are too good to be true.  I want to know if I'm really looking at this correctly, and who better to ask than those with the experience!

Thanks!