PTA to PA route

I have just signed up for a PTA program and will start taking the prerequisites required in the fall semester (August). But after doing research I still can't figure out how this route works. I thought PTA would be perfect since I could get my service hours out of the way before applying to PA school. Anybody have a step by step plan or any other information that would benefit me? Thanks!

Not to say PTA wouldn't be good experience moving forward with gaining patient care hours, but I think there are better options for you if want to improve your chances of getting into PA school. PTA route is costly and time consuming, but the pay is higher than your standard CNA, MA, phleb, EMT. I would suggest looking into one of those programs. I was a PT tech during undergrad and although it was good experience in regards to patient care, it doesn't really help you with understanding the healthcare system like an MA or EMT would. An MA or EMT gives you the best of best world really, getting to work alongside PA.MDs, NPs, help you understand medicine as a whole, whereas PTAs only do the rehab part of it. Start knocking out the pre reqs for PA school and look into one of those programs, chances are some classes with overlap. Thats just my 2 cents, hopefully that helps!

Don't waste your money on PTA if that isn't what you want to do. My husband got most of his hours as a PT tech, along with clinical hours as an Athletic Training student. The MA or EMT routes are good options. True, PT tech only really sees the rehab side. Doing shadowing and volunteer hours would help as well. 

If you're willing to commit to a two-year program, I would switch from PTA to Radiology. It is also two years, but the experience after graduation is phenomenal. I started out working in a hospital like most techs, and ended up in an orthopedic practice as the only tech performing in office x-rays and fluoroscopy procedures in the OR.

Just another option to think about.