Need Advice with PA Application

Hi guys! I'm new to this forum and the PA application process. Here's a little bit about me:

I graduated from college 2 years ago. I applied to medical school twice and have been wait-listed at a few schools both times. I am now considering switching to the PA route. It's not because I see PA as a less demanding career, but because I think my stats put me a better shot for PA programs. After applying to medical school twice, I don't know if I still have a chance at becoming a doctor anymore. My MCAT score was the big issue. I've always wanted to practice medicine, and becoming a PA will allow me to achieve this dream as well. My stats and experiences are as following:

Undergrad major: health science with minor in biology

Cumulative Undergrad. GPA: 3.8
Science Undergrad. GPA: 3.7
1st GRE: 308 (4.0)

Direct Patient Care/Extracurricular Experiences : 

Volunteered as a pharmacy technician  >400 hours

Shadowed many physicians (total>200 hours), but no PA's yet

Clinical research >100 hours

Full-time biomedical research at the NIH >2 years, working on publishing 2 papers

Volunteer coordinator of the American Red Cross in college

Teaching Assistant for 1 year

Language Instructor for 1 year

Many community service experience as well

I know PA programs are very strict on direct patient care hours, and that each program has its unique requirement. So I'm not sure which of my experiences actually counts as direct patient care. Here's a list of my questions:

1. I want to work on getting more experiences. Should I try to do some shadowing with PA's? I'm also looking into getting a paid clinical job such as medical scribe. Which one is more important and should be done first?

2. With the experiences I have, what are my chances of applying this cycle (April 2016)? Or should I wait until next year when I have more patient care hours?

3. Who should I get my letters of recommendations from?

Please help me out if you can. Thanks a lot! :)