PA applcation advice needed for a foreign country MD

Hello everyone:

I got my MD degree in China then came here 5 years ago as an exchange graduate student.  I'm currently doing Medical Research as a research associate at UMass Medical University. Holding an MD, I was planning to take the USMLE and pursue a residency. Then about a year ago, I first got to know about the PA profession and after throughly research and consideration I decided to pursue the PA career instead of physician. 

While collecting the admission requirements information, I found my self in a not so favorable situation:

1. Prerequisite courses: Since I went to medical school back in 2004 (got an MD in 2009), almost all my basic science courses needed to be retaken. 

2. Clinical patient care experience: Although I started to be a volunteer in the ER since last December, all my real on-hands patient care experience was gained back in China during my clinical rotation and training.

I'm planning to retake the courses from local community college, however I'm not sure in which way I could gain more clinical experience. 

Some of the programs show samples of  "Health Care Experience" as being working as a NR, EMT, paramedical technician or medical assistant... But, for me, giving up my current job and enroll into a 2-3 year NR or paramedical technology program then spending an extra 1~2 years to work to gain the experience seems not so realistic.

So, my questions:

1. Does my oversea clinical experience gained during medical school training counts?

2. Is there a better suit me way to gain more clinical experience here in the US? 

3. Should I take the courses and get an EMT or BLS certification?

Really appreciate any suggestions!

• Administrator

So you got your MD in 2004, and have been here for the last 5 years?  What did you do with your MD in China for the intervening 6-7 years?  If you did a residency there or worked as a GP, you don't need any more patient care experience.