Matriculation of Science Courses

Hi, my name is Emma and I was curious if anyone can help me out with a question. I currently work as a certified surgical tech and went back to school to finish my bachelors degree with the hopes of applying to pa schools afterwards. I have ran in to a few snags here and there that I was able to work out but have I run in to another issue that could set me back. I was looking at some of the programs that I was interested in and saw that some of them ask for a matriculation of science courses be 3 yrs to 5 yrs before applying. I have been a CST for almost 5 yrs and some experience before that as a CNA. My question is if these programs would take into a grandfather effect since I have been in the medical field for a bit or if they will not accept my classes that I took back in 2009/2010 unless I go back and make those classes current?

Thanks!

I believe you can appeal some classes to the schools where you would state what you discussed. Contact the schools your interested in directly to find out there procedure. Some schools, because I dealt with this a bit myself, are more than 3-5. Some as many years as 7-10. So really do your research and if it means retaking a few pre-requisites for your goal, than its about the dedication :) Goodluck!

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk

I know the school I got into makes no exceptions so that it's a completely fair application process. That being said, only 1 class had to be taken in the last 5 years and the other classes had to be taken within 10. The 5 year deadline can be tricky for everyone because even if you take a course your freshman year of college and graduate on time, you're running close to the 5 year mark. I'd say depends on the school but most are pretty strict because they want the person to have the highest chance of succeeding when in their program.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk