Advice for PA schools that value RD experience

Hello All,

I have read all of the posts regarding RD's looking to become PA's. I am currently an RD licensed in the state of TX. I have recently changed careers and have two bachelor degrees, the first a BA in psychology and the second a BS in Nutrition. My total GPA is about a 3.1 and the last three years of school is around a 3.6. I am curious to see what schools out there 1. value RD clinical experience for HCE for a PA program 2. programs that do not have time limit restrictions on prerequisites since some of my prerequisites are more than 7 yrs old and 3. schools that prefer or are ok with older students and/or have improved their gpa's from the start of their college coursework. I am 35 yrs old and plan to apply for the next application cycle. I am a TX resident and it seems that several of the TX PA schools have an avg age of 23-24 and have time limits on prerequisites. I am not set on a TX school, although it would be nice to get a break on in state tuition. Any info or recommendations on schools that give preference or are ok with this would be greatly appreciated! 

Of your 3 issues, your old pre-reqs will be your limiting factor.  All of the schools I looked at, applied to, and interviewed at would have accepted RD and, as an older applicant myself, I did not find age to be an issue.

Your best bet is to check out programs individually as far as pre-reqs go because they can change from year to year.  5 years is pretty typical, but so is 10.  You'll be able to apply to a majority of programs, just don't waste money on the ones where your pre-reqs are too old.  There's no magic answer, you've just got to put the leg work into checking out programs.  We've all been there.