Can hx of drug addiction prevent me from licensure?

I have a bachelor's degree in psychology, decided to switch gears, and need to take about a years and a half's worth of prerequisite courses before applying to PA school. It has been brought to my attention that my history may be an issue for me, as I am a former heroin addict.  I went to rehab for in the summer of 2010, was prescribed Suboxone for two years, was tapered off by my physician, and have not had any issues with relapse, and have no criminal record.

Is my history going to prevent me from progressing in this career?  I would rather not take the time to complete the prerequisites if they will end up being for naught.  Any insights would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

I can't speak from personal experience, but in general any field in which you will have access to controlled substances, including PA, can be an issue for those with a history of prior addiction. How much of a problem this can be can vary depending on the type addiction, but considering the common use of opiates in the medical environment, I would imagine heroin addition might be the most problematic drug history to have when attempting to enter this field. For starters, I suggest doing some research on if this issue would bar you from any potential clinical sites the programs you are considering applying to use or any issues this may cause in becoming licensed in the state and setting in which you plan to practice. Having this information will help you decide whether or not to apply, and if you find positive responses, having this info may help make your case to the programs you want to gain admission to.