Respiratory Therapy Courses to boost Science GPA?

I have looked over CASPA and it states that RT classes are considered "other Science" and I believe "other science" gets factored into the overall science GPA so I guess the classes will boost my GPA (as long as I rock them!) That is almost to good to be true! And yes the RT program I got into is accredited!

Hello,

I am planning on getting an AAS in Respiratory Therapy and working for a few years before applying to PA school. I have a BS in biological sciences with GPA 3.00 and sGPA 2.75. Will my courses taken in RT school count towards my science GPA?

Thanks!

They most certainly do. I'm a respiratory therapist and applied this year. If you have any questions fire away! Good luck.

Thanks for the confirmation gator! How many years have you been an RRT? I am leaving a pretty decent career to pursue this so I want to make sure I am going to have a pretty good shot at getting into a PA program however, I have shadowed the field and I think that I would still enjoy it even if I do not get into a PA school.

Ironically enough, I started out rt school with nearly identical gpas. I initially got into the field with the intention of making a career out of it, and didn't decide to try for pa school until last year. I've been an rt for about 2 and a half years, with 4000 hours of clinical respiratory experience. My associates in respiratory brought me up to a 3.2 overall with a 3.0 science gpa. Even with my experience, I consider myself at this point a borderline candidate for pa school. Honestly I enjoy being a respiratory therapist, so this doesn't really bother me. My advice would be to make sure you like respiratory before investing in school, in the case that you can't get into pa school. You don't want to get stuck in a field you don't care for!