Extent to which PA's participate in surgery

I'm currently in my 3rd year of my college undergrad and I'm starting to think about which specific area I would like to work in as a PA. I was wondering to what extent PA's can participate in surgery? I think orthopedics would be interesting, or working in the ER. My roommate who is currently in nursing school said I should be a scrub nurse? Are there major differences? Do PA's get to really get their hands in on surgery or do they mostly just assist? I haven't had the opportunity to shadow in either areas so I really don't have a good idea.

May want to check out the Surgical specialty section of this site. Vast majority of PAs I've worked with and/or shadowed over the years worked as First Assist thus played major roles in the surgeries (mostly Neuro, CT, plastics and Ortho). However, very dependent on surgeon, specialty, etc. Most, if not all, we relied upon heavily for postop mgt, dx of complications and proper tx/mgt.

Scrub Nurses are valuable members of surgery team, but very different from PA

I'm currently in my 3rd year of my college undergrad and I'm starting to think about which specific area I would like to work in as a PA. I was wondering to what extent PA's can participate in surgery? I think orthopedics would be interesting, or working in the ER. My roommate who is currently in nursing school said I should be a scrub nurse? Are there major differences? Do PA's get to really get their hands in on surgery or do they mostly just assist? I haven't had the opportunity to shadow in either areas so I really don't have a good idea.

Rather than a scrub nurse (passing things to the surgeon), I think your friend may have been thinking of RNFA (http://www.aorn.org/CareerCenter/CareerDevelopment/RNFirstAssistant/).