Do I need HCE hours?

I’m currently in a MBA program that I will complete during the summer of 2012. I currently work for a FT for a university. I’m 28 and after having my son and being in and out of the hospital with him and speaking with a lot of people in the medical field have decided that I wanted to pursue a career as a PA… My dilemma is that I have 0 hours of HCE I’m in South Fl and have decided that I will probably apply for 2013 after I finish my MBA program and finish my pre reqs. How much will it hurt me that I have 0 HCE hours? Should I try volunteer at a local hospital? My current plan is to take my MBA course as I complete my preqs … I have my bachelors in Communications so I have A LOT of pre reqs to do. Thanks for any and all assistance J

There are some schools that do not require HCE. That said, and please don't take this personally, you won't be as good a PA student or new graduate PA without at least some experience. The best PAs are the ones who have thousands of hours of prior medical experience in strenuous fields like RN, Paramedic, Athletic Training, etc. I come from an Athletic Training background (in case you don't know that means I completed a 3000 hour internship learning how to evaluate and treat athletic injuries = orthopedics). I had about 6000 hours of HCE on top of my training in various fields including professional work as an Athletic Trainer, CNA and EMT before PA school and I feel like I can only begin to live up to the potential and demand that exists for PAs. So, you'll do yourself and your patients well by getting experience first.