Do I have a chance?

Hello,

I am currently in the middle of taking my prerequisites for PA school, and am looking for some advice. I am 26 years old, and should be done with my prereqs by December of this year with an anticipated 3.7-3.8 science GPA post-bac. I graduated with a B.S. in science education with a 3.12 GPA (my first year was not so hot), and am currently am taking an EMT-B course, and will be certified by the end of this summer. The question is: will I have a competitive package applying for the October 1st deadline for this year with my limited HCE? I have also had community experience with working as a Ed-tech and volunteering hours for tutoring and with the local habitat for humanity.The last year has been completely devoted to putting myself in a position for a chance of getting into PA school, and am jumping at the chance to apply to schools with my pre-reqs/HCE in progress. Does anyone know of the schools that require minimal HCE? Any advice on any of the above would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks so much.

Yes, you have a chance of getting in. Maybe it's a small chance, but you'd probably agree that it is worth taking a seat if you get it. No one can tell you for certain, so the only way you will know is if you spend the time and money to apply in order to find out. Focus on schools you have the best shot of getting into: pick schools that do not require HCE (skip MEDEX, Pacific, Duke, etc) and focus on places that don't have high incoming class GPAs (skip schools that a ranked highly (and hence more people apply) but don't have HCE requirements, like UTSW). Do your homework by searching each school's website and this forum. Read the CASPA website to ensure you will meet the CASPA deadline, in addition to school deadlines.

You would obviously have a better chance at getting in if you apply next year - the earlier the better.

I say you definitely have a shot at some of the schools that don't have high HCE hours required --