Hi guys and gals, I have a question!

I graduated 2013 with a BS in Business. My CGPA is 3.1. Initially, I was a chemistry major so I have about two years worth of sciences done but my grades were not that great. My existing SGPA is 2.7. I plan on retaking all the courses over that I received lower than a B. So my problem is:

For the fall semester, I got into the following programs:

Pre med post bacc at Hofstra University

Non-matriculated program at NYU (applied for post-bacc in the spring)

Non-matriculated program at Hunter (applied for post-bacc in the spring)

Which program will be the best choice? The general public will obviously choose NYU based on its prestige but I will have no perks of the pre-health advisory and I’ve been warned about their “weeding out” courses. Hosftra, although not the best school, I have all the perks that come with a structured post bacc program but I don’t know if it will give me the competitive edge that I will need to separate myself. I’ve heard great things about Hunter but again, I will have no guidance and I am concerned with not impressing the adcoms. Lastly, I don’t want to wait around an entire semester to see if I got into any of the programs in the spring. I just want some feedback. I just don’t know what to do...

Hi there,

Attend any you see of best fit. Adcoms (as I have observed) do not care [as much] which school you graduated/took postbac courses from except for those who explicitly state "community college courses are not competitive". They care for the grades you received, the quality of your HCE, any volunteerism/humanitarian experiences, and personal/professional goals. I personally would go with the one that offers the most perks; those that deal with student affairs where both matriculated and non-matriculated students are considered equal.

A 4.0 from a state school in philosophy > a 2.9 from Harvard in biology [since you're auto-screened out by GPA].

• Upvote 1