First EM Job Experience Requirements

I'm set to graduate in a few months and have been recently searching for EM jobs with great frustration. All of them say they want a year of experience in EM before they will even look at my application. I have had a few callbacks and emails but they all end the same way... I was a paramedic for four years prior to starting school and all of my electives have an EM focus.

So how do I get EM experience if nobody wants to hire me as a new grad? I'm not limited to location but set on the specialty; I really do not want to do anything besides EM.

Has anyone else experienced this? What did you do? I can't be the only one this has happened to. Any advice appreciated.

Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk

• Administrator

You have about three options, I'd estimate:

1) Look in undesirable locations for desirable jobs.

2) Do a residency.  Or at the very least an EM boot camp/conference.

3) Do Urgent Care until you can get your foot in the door for emergency department work.

Interestingly enough, trying to go from Family Medicine to Emergency Medicine has not been trivial for me, either.

I just graduated last week. I have been offered a job in the ER. I know 5 others from my class who also have ER jobs already.

Apply to more jobs, network as much as you can, knock on more doors, make more phone calls, etc.

The journey of applying and suffering repeated rejection is frustrating, but remember that things can change for the better in an instant

So how do I get EM experience if nobody wants to hire me as a new grad? I'm not limited to location but set on the specialty; I really do not want to do anything besides EM.

Has anyone else experienced this? What did you do? I can't be the only one this has happened to. Any advice appreciated.