Pharm-Hell

Hey All,

I am currently in my second semester of PA school and everything is going well, with the exception of Pharm class.

I was wondering if you guys and gals out there had some tips and ideas on how to remember MOA, receptors/enzymes, ADR, Contraindications, and so on.

Any help would be great!

Thanks,

Kacs

It wasn't uncommon for us to have 200 drugs on an exam and we had 6 exams, each exam had up to a 33% comprehensive component to it... Ya pharm wasn't the most fun I've ever had but I would just make flashcards of the drugs with the info that I wanted to know and separate them into groups of 5ish. Keep adding a new 5 when you have the previous 5 mastered, and be sure to constantly mix them up. Eventually you will be left with a small pile of ones you don't know and a large pile of ones you have mastered. It really has to be done daily if you want to stay on top of it. Reading through those lectures did nothing for me, it is brute memorization.

I should preface this with pharm was one of the courses we took with the med students, and that making flashcards will take FOREVER, but it really worked for me.

Guest guthriesm

I have a running excel sheet where i write the drug, MOA, uses, and major side effects, etc. I have it color coded. My exams have had about 300+ drugs each. Flash cards are what most of my classmates are using as well.

• 4 months later...

I started making flashcards last night, as suggested, but am not sure how useful they'll be. Right now we're still on ADME... I think maybe once I start memorizing drugs it might actually be easier, honestly. My pharmacology instructor talks about stuff I've never heard of (CYP... and I took biochem, so maybe it was just a **** biochem class?), so I'm having to do a lot of outside reading just to understand his lectures. We went through something like 400 slides in four days.