Are there any rescue PAs out there?

Hi all, I just found this forum while doing some research for my clinical year. This is my first post up here so hello everyone - I am a 1st year PA from Quinnipiac University. If this post is in the wrong section, Mods feel free to move.

I am posting up here because its time for me to start thinking about my electives for my clinical year. I cant believe how fast my didactic year went! Only about 8 weeks left to my spring 1 semester. PA school is going well, kicking my butt, but I wouldn't rather do anything else. I have been an EMT/Firefighter for about 7 years now and I absolutely love it. I have been trying to find out if there are any PA professions in the US that are basically wilderness/outdoors medicine or rescue medicine. I know there are wilderness EMTs, but What about wilderness PAs? I just joined the wilderness medical society website but I really didn't find much as of yet. May need to do some more research.

But overall I am just looking for some help. I am an avid outdoorsman and love rescue. Are there any jobs for PAs out there like this? I know there is always EM, but if I can get outdoors I would.

Thanks. I look forward to participating on this forum!

Mike

there are volunteer and seasonal(paid) positions out there for pa's but not a lot of full time paid positions for pa's or docs in this setting.

medcor hires pa's to work seasonally at yellowstone and similar places and raytheon polar services uses pa's in antarctica. there are also civilian(mercenary...) companies that use pa's in "conflict areas" (iraq, afghanistan, etc) in this capacity.