PA supervisory requirements a barrier to "corporate" medicine?

I am a clinical year student on the second day of my 3rd rotation in a Family Medicine practice which is linked to a group of around 40 other primary and specialty offices in a corporate structure. Apparently this group of practices, which has employed PAs in the past, has recently decided not to hire any more PAs because of the supervisory requirement. They delivered this news to a prospective new grad PA employee after interviewing them! This was a big let down for me because this group is rapidly exapnding in the area where I live, which means there should be multiple potential jobs come summer when I graduate. What is further concerning, however, is that this mindset could begin to inundate other practices in the area, as this group of practices is somewhat of a "model" for care within the region. In the past they have hired PAs and NPs to work essentially as locums, and rotate through various offices in the area until a doc permanently takes them on to work full-time at a specific office. Sometimes this is a year-long process or longer, whereas in other cases, it is only a few months. Of course, if there are 10 sites that need extra help over the course of a month, a PA would need to have a supervising physician (or multiple ones) at each of those sites, whereas an NP can be put wherever they are needed without having to go through the red tape. I personally think this current arrangement will hurt the profession in our area, and it flat out doesn't make any sense to me. I think they should hire directly to one office, but it doesn't look like that will be an option any time soon.

Does your state require on site supervision? If they are large they should have more than enough docs to provide supervision. Are they trying to hire clinicians to work solo? If not then it's not an issue. All depends on the state law I think. Unless the docs are just lazy. In that case run.