HPSP prior service

Hi guys.

I'm a former Naval Flight Officer. Separated July 2008. I'm thinking about HPSP. My questions are:

1) Can I enter at the same rank I left O-3E w/12?

2) Can I collect my GI Bill and HPSP stipends/tuition benees? I've heard that you can get both benefits (stipends) but only one tuition payment - most likely HPSP paying it. Can someone verify this?

I'm not asking because I'm greedy. I'm normally the breadwinner of my family and living off of E-5 pay isn't really helping. I figure I earned my GI Bill with my years of service and will be earning HPSP with additional years of service, so why not? Please let me know if you know of anyone who has done this. THere's a lot of forums out ther that "speculate". I would like to know for sure if someone has done this.

Thanks!

1. I think it's difficult to do anything other than speculate on some of this. I know for a fact you keep your time in but weather or not you'll still be an O-3 is up for debate. I think you ought to be able to press your branch manager for this.

2. As long as you are enrolled as a full-time student, you can collect your GI Bill concurrently with HPSP. Or at least you could in 2006. If I were you I'd get in the weeds and read the current form of the GI Bill and the Navy HPSP.

You're not asking because you are greedy, you're asking because you earned your dang GI Bill and you darn well deserve it if you meet the criteria to collect it. Again, it was a go in 2006. I haven't read the new form of the GI Bill. Obviously congress didn't re-write the GI Bill to put more money into the hands of servicemembers. I'd go through it in detail. That's all I can offer.

• 2 weeks later...