Do PA programs consider "Academic Renewal"?

Hello!

So I've been wondering.. Since CASPA is an electronic application which calculates and provides GPAs to schools.. is this going to affect my chances? I'm 27, and I screwed up when I was 18 and got a D in CalcA and Fs in Chem II and Chem Lab II. I went back to school at the age of 24 and ended up doing a lot better, even getting an A in the class I got an F in (with a seven year gap from Chem 1 no less).

The problem is, when CASPA goes to calculate my GPA, it's probably going to be sub 3.0 as well as sub 3.0 for science with those Fs. Are schools just going to see the numbers and not bother looking at anything else and toss it in the reject bin? Or will they take the time to look at my transcripts and read my statement/recommendations and get a better picture. With Academical renewal my science and general GPA is much higher, around 3.25.

For additional information, I have two years + experience as an EMT for FDNY in Harlem as well as another two years of volunteer experience as an EMT.

When it comes down to it, I'm wondering if my mistakes when I was 18 are going to screw me over big time. I attend Stony Brook University as an undergrad and they're my first choice for the PA program. I've made the mistake at their school and returned to correct it. It would just be a shame if those Fs come back to haunt me.

Thoughts?