New Grad Seeking Job Search Advice

Hello everyone,

I am a newly certified PA (whooo-hooo, it feels so good to be able to say/type that) from Southern California. I took my boards in the beginning of Oct and have been actively seeking a position since mid October. In hindsight, I should've been looking before I graduated but I wanted to concentrate on passing my boards first. For the past 3 months, I have been looking into orthopaedic PA positions but for one reason or another, haven't been able to interview, except a few, with one being orthopedics. I have also been concurrently applying for part time gigs in Family Med, Urgent Care-whatever is listed so that I can start practicing, but no success.  I am starting to get anxious and wondering if this is a normal experience for new grads. I know many of my former classmates are already working, some even in subspecialties such as orthopedics, without prior experience in a well sought out city such as Los Angeles. The only ones who actually call me back seem to be in rural areas where nobody wants to relocate to. Is this inevitable because of my lack of experience?  Any advice from the veterans and alumni? Please share your wisdom with me.

Thanks!

Do you want surgery?  What is wrong with rural areas?  Somebody wants to relocate there!  A rural job may be a blessing in disguise.  

Paula (rural medicine PA who has had some of the most fantastical experiences you can not even imagine!)

Do you want surgery?  What is wrong with rural areas?  Somebody wants to relocate there!  A rural job may be a blessing in disguise.  

Paula (rural medicine PA who has had some of the most fantastical experiences you can not even imagine!)