Undergrad (4th year) seeking advice; non-traditional pre-PA track

Hi everyone!

I am an undergrad student at UF with one semester left. I am kind of in a pickle deciding what to do next. I have picked quite a non-traditional path from what I've seen. My major is Spanish, and I've completed most of the PA prereqs, I only have two left.

My overall GPA isn't awful: 3.5. But my science GPA is where I'm worried: 2.7. I got a couple of C's in prereq courses during my 2nd year mostly because I spread myself too thin and was working 30-40 hours a week and taking 16 credits. In my most recent science coursework I've done well with A's in Gen Chem 2, Organic, and Genetics.

I feel like it is probably unrealistic to apply and expect positive feedback from really anywhere since most programs won't even look at you unless your science GPA is above a 3.0.

Right now I am trying to decide if I should go the post-bacc route and take some science courses to raise my science GPA (retake the prereqs?), or try to apply to a 1 year MS program somewhere in order to show that I'm capable of handling rigorous science classes even though my current science GPA doesn't reflect that.

As far as clinical experience goes I have been working as a CNA, and am possibly thinking about going the EMT route.

Any and all advice is appreciated!

Thank you!

I also graduated from UF and was a non science major (family youth and community sciences). Good thing about PA school is that your major does not matter. If I were u I would re take and pre req course that you received a C in at a community college or UF if u can afford it...because during interviews you WILL get asked why you got a C. You are right most programs require a minimum of a 3.0. You are not far from it and can reach it by retaking some classes. I would also continue getting those HCE hours as a CNA. I wouldn't waste time on becoming an emt because your science GPA takes priority. This is just what I would do. Good luck