Being a strong applicant...

I have recently decided to take the PA path. I have a bachelors in science from Western Michigan in Interdisciplinary Health and also have an associates in nursing. I have been a practicing RN for the past year and a half. About 6 months into my carreer as an RN i knew i wanted to become a mid-level provider. Im applying to 3 schools in Michigan...EMU, Wayne state and UDM. I guess what im wondering is what makes a strong applicant...I graduted with a 3.47 undergrand GPA(a little low, i know)....my nursing school GPA was a 3.9 and my sciences GPA is a 3.85. I have well over 2000 hours of direct patient care. I have volunteer work under my belt (make a wish foundation, soup kitchens, and with several other organizations). I still have to take my GRE and have to take organic chem. But im wondering...what makes a competitive applicant? You see many people who apply with a 3.8-3.9 GPA with all requirements met and they dont get accepted. just wondering what everyones thoughts were on application strengths:) thanks!

On paper, you sound great! I suspect your letters of recommendation and interview performance will be key in your case (assuming you do well in Ochem and the GREs). Your grades and experience sound very good.

You will probably be asked why the PA route and not the NP route, so that's a question you'll need to think about. You didn't mention shadowing time, so hopefully you plan to do enough of that to understand the PA's role in different environments.

Good luck!