Clinical Rotations on Military Installations

Has anyone heard of conducting second year clinicals at military hospitals or clinics while attending a civilian university? I am a soldier with the National Guard and have been accepted into a civilian PA program that begins in Sept. 2013. My goal is to "go active" upon graduation. Just wanted to put my feelers out there. Thanks for the advice.

Kevin

Hi, Kevin. It is possible. They will need to have the same paperwork as other rotation sites. It is helpful if the base you are looking at already has residencies or clinical rotations from the military's PA program. You will need to find out what base you want to rotate with and get in touch with the education coordinator now. Then when you start your program, you will need to have the clinical coordinator talk with them. And follow up consistently. The final authority is the Pentagon, and it can take a while to be approved.

• Administrator
I've seen it up at Ft Lewis with 2nd year PA students working at Madigan Army Medical Center. The ones I saw were with Pacific University. So yeah... it can be done.

Yep. Did General Surgery and Cardiology rotations at Madigan. It was a great experience... except that like all teaching hospitals, students get to see a lot, but quite a bit more is DONE by the residents and interns.

There was a bit of paperwork hassle. Since the rotations were a year apart, I had to get fingerprinted twice, and had to sit through all the mandatory training twice... but the process isn't any worse than any other bureaucratic hoopla... you just have to do what they say, and provide what they request, in a timely manner, and everything goes OK.

One classmate has a ridiculously common name which was on the no-fly list, and he cannot get rotations at military bases or prisons, IIRC. As long as that's not you, you should be fine. Me, I had a security clearance years ago, so I know they know who I am. :-)