College and HCE

Hey all,

I literally just started my adventure in becoming a PA. I started college for my associates this semester and I am wondering how to go about getting good HCE. I was working as certified pharmacy technician (not very good HCE if accepted at all) now I am a full time student. I am lucky that my husband and I moved in with his parents so that my mother –in-law can take care of my 2 ½ year old while I go to school.

My college is for the first time offering a home health aide program and a phlebotomy program is starting May 11th, it’s a 14 week program they both run about $595. I was debating on whether I should volunteer at a hospital vs. being either a home health aide or phelm. To volunteer where I am (Florida Hospital’s) it’s a requirement that I volunteer at least 600 hours in 4 months to stay a volunteer.

As of right now I have time to think about what I could do. I am unable to sign up for either courses this semester since my class schedule is severely messed up .All my classes are during the day so I would need either a job that is evenings/weekends or the hospital to let me volunteer during the same times. All the PA schools in Florida except maybe one accepts volunteer hours and don’t have a specific amount.

I am nervous about the load of school work and working at the same time. It’s been about 5 years since I’ve gone to school

Which would be the best route to go? Either the home health aide , phlebotomy or volunteer ?

PA schools prefer paid HCE over volunteering experience so you'd be much better off going that route if at all possible. If you're just now getting back into school after being out of the game for so long you may want to wait a semester to start working and just make sure you can handle your studies. Once you get a better feel of how to manage a school/kiddo/work balance then you'll be in a better position to earn that HCE.