Med Tech and Paramedic to PA school

Any Medical technologist or Paramedics who have transitioned to PA school? Did you feel more prepared? I have degrees and experience in both fields. Please leave your thoughts?

Many guys here meet these criteria.. Emedpa, devil dog, medic25 all come to mind.

From a PA hire/fire and performance evaluator, I can tell you it certainly is beneficial to have these experiences and capabilities.

Well from the Medical Technologist standpoint I can say yes it has definitely helped (I'm in my first year, btw). To echo rcdavis, the experience was probably the single most helpful thing. Although the Med Tech (now properly called Clinical Laboratory Scientist) coursework is a close second. I worked almost exclusively stem cell transplant, apheresis (strange role for a med tech I know), and hematology for 4-5 years prior to PA school. Already knowing what all is in a CBC/CMP, what diseases you are looking for, knowing the sources of error for testing, and in general how things work/get run on a day to day schedule are some of the major points. This not only applies to the lab but also up on the floor. I had a few years of experience divided between floor work as an orderly and shadowing a physician in his clinic that also helped guide the knowledge once I was in med tech school.