Challenging the Nursing Assistant Exam

In North Carolina a person can challenge the NA exam, which means that the person does not have to have any formal training and can educate at home or within a group and then take the exam and be listed on the registry.

Has anyone done this? I would really like to be listed on the registry so that I may have paid HCE.

If you've done this, do you have any advice?

It would be wonderful if I could be listed on the registry so that I may work somewhere other than a nursing home, but I am worried that I won't be prepared to take the exam.

Money is the reason I do not want to take the semester-long course. I also have two young children so time is also a reason.

It's hard to fit in any sort of certification when I am a working undergraduate with two small children.

Thank you for any advice.