Online Bachelors Degree

Hello everyone,

I know there are many postings about online coursework, but I was wondering about actual online degrees.

I am currently an RRT at UCD Med Center. I'm a recent graduate, but decided I wanted more than respiratory before I even graduated (sad I know, but what can you do?). I decided that I want to move on to PA school after working for about five years to get a good level of critical-care experience and am currently working at the same time on all my pre-req coursework at a local CC. Here is where my problem is.

What I wish to do is get my BSRT through a bridge program. Only problem is, there are no schools around here that offer said degree, so the only options I have are online. (Currently considering Boise State or UNC Charlotte). Now I would really prefer to get my BSRT for the much more in depth A&P, pharmacology, pathophys, hemodynamics, etc. But at the end of the day, its still an online degree, and I don't know how admission boards will view such a thing. I've tried to contact the local PA programs but not a single one of them has bothered to get back to me with any info, so I was hoping I could get a little guidance from you guys.

It works like this.

There are two kinds of accreditation...

Regional

and

National

You would think the National would be better but it’s not, Regional is because those are mostly Brick and Mortar, meaning, actual schools. There are 6 regions in the United States.

Most online schools are Nationally accredited. If a bachelors degree is a terminal degree and you needed it for your job then typically, there is not much wrong with a nationally accredited degree.

However, if you wanted to go to grad school, which are the majority of PA schools, then you must inquire if they will accept your nationally accredited degree.

The 5 or 6 schools I called in the Western United States DID NOT.

I did find one later.