Possible dismissal but would like to try again

I am a 2nd year PA student who was accepted into a 5-year BA/MS PA program. I had excellent science and math grades in high school, a good SAT score, and was fortunate enough to be accepted into a few different PA programs. I have struggled a bit with science courses and have less than a 3.0 average right now - probably around 2.8. I have had to retake one class to bring the GPA higher. We are only allowed 3 retakes in total for all classes over the 3 years before entering the last 2 years of the program. If I don't get a 3.0 or higher and/or retake more than 3 sciences classes, I will be dismissed from the program and will have to reapply. I really want to be a PA, and in looking back perhaps majoring in Health Sciences would have been the better choice for me since I could have retaken classes and gotten a much higher GPA. My question is, has anyone had to drop out of the program but get back in eventually after a "detour"? This would really be helpful to me as I am losing my confidence in what I have always wanted to do. I think I have the aptitude - I just was a little surprised at the intensity of the classes and wished I had taken more than a couple of AP classes in high school.

My daughter is in a 5 year BS/MS program, so I'm quite familiar with them (BTW, she took 8 AP classes in high school and it's really helping her now). If you leave your program, I highly doubt they will let you back in at a later time, regardless of your new grades. If you drop out now, you will have to go the traditional route: get a BS degree and get good grades. Get lots of HCE, take the GRE, and then apply to PA school.