Direct Patient Care Experience Question

Hello! I am new to the whole forum thing, this is actually the first one I have joined, so please bare with me if I make a few mistakes. This upcoming spring will be my 5th year working in a pharmacy, and while there is not direct patient care involved I still feel I have learned a lot about medications, insurances, communicating between pharmacists, doctors and patients--because in my opinion the only way to provide excellent care is for everyone to be on the same page when it comes to the patient's health. Last year I took a phlebotomy course, passed, and did 120 hours for my clinical in hospital and drew over 250+ patient's blood/among other tests but I have been unable to find a phlebotomy job willing to work with a full-time student's schedule. I am worried that this will hinder me when it comes to applying for PA programs. I have volunteered at local nursing homes, and also over the summer I volunteered at the humane society. Does anyone know if my 5 years of pharmacy experience will be seen as a good thing? Or will it simply tell them I am not interested in being a PA and should go to pharmacy school (which is NOT the case)? I got the job right out of high school, my boss works with my schedule, I make good money to help pay rent/other bills, I have kept it since I cannot find a phleb job who is willing to hire a full-time student.

There are over 150 PA programs in the nation. The more willing you are to relocate for school, the higher your chances are at being selected. While a pharm tech isn't direct patient care, it is more than many applicants have when they get selected. The skill set of pharmacy is quite handy and not to be dismissed headed into the PA world. It sounds like you have the volunteer aspect covered, have some life experience outside of pure academia, and are a hard worker. These are positive attributes. Have some confidence in yourself.