New grad - job specialty pigeonhole?

Hi,

I'm a new grad who is interested in working in primary care. I have been exploring specialty job postings due to the lack of available primary care postings for new grads in my area (I'm not willing to move). I'm entertaining a possible offer in pain management (Workers Comp-heavy; competitive compensation package) but I'm worried that if I take this position and work in this specialty for a few years, that it will be difficult for me to be marketable for primary care positions in the future. I know that knowledge in pain management would be a good skill set for primary care (or any other field), which is why I'm considering taking this job. But I wonder if primary care (family med/internal med, and not quite primary care but EM) hiring managers/Docs/PAs would not consider me a competitive candidate in the future due to my specialty experience?

I'd really appreciate any feedback or comments from seasoned veterans. Thank you very much.

side note from talking with folks who have worked there: zoom care is the devil. soul sucking, underappreciated work.

to the o.p. : keep your hand in the primary care market somehow as Steve mentioned by working per diem in an fp practice or volunteering at a free clinic. think long and hard before you take a full time job in pain management. it isn't an easy job and although some of your pts will be legitimate and you will be providing them a great service others will not be legitimate and will be using every trick in the book to scam you for controlled substances.....consider yourself warned...

Pain management that is Workers Comp. heavy? Are they co-located in a building of attorneys? Want to deal with the most demanding patients in the world? Ready for a steady stream of drug seeking patients?

I think I would wait for something more mainstream as a new grad.