New PA hopeful :) Some Questions!

Hi everyone! I am thrilled to have found this forum!! I am sure it will be an amazing resource :)

I am a 27 yr old FRESHMAN..lol! Back in school after about 6 years... after HS, I went into a sad little medical assistant program. Completed an 'externship' (worked for an awesome doctor and with a lot of inspiring PA students and I knew it would never be enough!) I was offered a job but didn't take it as it was $8.50/hr and I was making more at the walmart .. lol.

I really wish I had taken it, to gain more experience..but surely I will be able to use that 8 weeks as patient care experience right? I also worked for about a year in an assisted living facility caring for some amazing people, hoping that will count too. I also plan on building some volunteering experience and hopefully will find a shadowing opportunity down the line.

The programs I am looking at for PA school (Arcadia, USciences, Lockhaven..any others to check out in the SEPA area?) do not seem as intensive in requirements as I have read from other schools, the general is around 500 hours of patient care, GRE and courses that will seemingly flow fine with my chosen Psychology major. Am I being naive in thinking this? I ask because I've had conflicting advice from the advisers I've seen. The first told me Psych was a bad choice and changed me to Natural Science, the second said it was totally appropriate and we changed it back...