What's your take on whether I should even try to apply?

Hi there, I'm a recent graduate with a BS in Genetics at a UC school but very low GPA.. a 2.9. I know I meet the minimum for Touro,CA's GPA but I'm definitely sure there are many other higher GPA applicants. My GPA only dropped in my last two years due to a family related problem. But before I graduated I volunteered at a non-profit clinic for a year as an interpreter/doing back office MA work. After graduation, I went ahead and got myself a medical assistant certificate and is now working as a MA for a small clinic. I will have great LOR from the MD I work under and a teacher from my MA program. Would that be sufficient? At the same time I'm volunteering at a pediatric clinic for less than 10 hrs a week but it'll add up over time. I'm also looking into shadowing some PAs. But the bottom line is should I even try to apply the next coming cycle? I would also try to retake some of the prereqs that I got Cs in before applying since the current cycle is still ongoing. Sorry this was kind of long and thanks for any input!

It sounds like you have a good plan in place by wanting to retake the classes you made C's in. Definitely do some PA shadowing, and if possible, try to get a PA to write a LOR for you. Several schools strongly suggest that you have a LOR written by a PA, so it's best to go ahead and try to establish a good relationship with one. Keep in mind that CASPA requires you to include all of your grades, even for classes that you have retaken. Your GPA may not increase substantially, so you want to be as strong as possible in the other areas PA schools look at (e.g. HCE, LORs, personal statement). Good luck!!

• 2 weeks later...

keaiyuki,