I took a medical leave of absence from PA school, struggling to find out what to do next

Hello, 

I recently started a PA program in January. However, due to some chronic medical conditions, I decided to take a leave of absence from my program. I was struggling to keep up with material due to my declining health, so I decided to take a step back, and try and return with the following cohort. In the year that I have off, prior to returning to school, I plan on trying to get a better handle on my conditions so that I can return in a better place. Additionally, I know that there are areas in my foundational understanding of the basic sciences/anatomy and physiology. So I was planning on trying to teach myself the basics, identifying the areas that I am lost in, so I can be more prepared the next time. I have been working towards this end goal of becoming a PA for the last ten years of my life. It is all I've ever wanted to do. However, having experienced the rigor of a program I know that I was struggling and it was just the start. Which is why I made the decision to take a leave, and withdraw from the semester. That way I could come back to the program the following year.  I was told by some of the professors at my PA school that maybe the pace of the program is too much for me. It was suggested that I look into the NP route as there are more part time programs out there (compared to PA programs). I don't want to give up on my dream of becoming a PA, but I also need to be realistic with myself. I want to try and teach myself the material that I am struggling with, but I am concerned that I will not be able to get all that knowledge in a year. If my professors at my PA school don't think the pace is suited for me, am I foolish to even try and go back in a year? Should I just pursue the nursing route since I already have a degree in Medical Science? I'm just really lost, because it feels like my whole world has come crashing down. Any and all advice is welcomed!