EM New Grad Position - Expensive Health Insurance

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to see if there was anything I wasn't thinking of in regards to covering my family with health insurance. My offer is, otherwise, very generous in my opinion. It's in the location and specialty I want (EM). I am a new graduate.

• $75/hr + $5 per patient incentive
  • 10 shifts minimum for FTE benefits, will likely work 12 or more. 12 hour shifts.
  • $2500 CME/business expense account
  • Life insurance covered

However, health insurance seems insanely expensive to also cover my family. High deductible CDHP w/ HSA is $1,029/monthly. Low deductible CDHP w/ HSA is $1,211/monthly. PPO is $1,446/monthly.

I have ulcerative colitis so I do not think the high deductible plan is wise for me. We were really looking at my wife not working, but I also wasn't expecting extraordinarily expensive benefits. Dental is even $174/mo for the family.

Other than healthcare.gov, the only other option we see is to have her work at least part-time and get benefits that way - because covering myself alone is only $74/mo. I assume she can do much better for herself and our kid working at a large hospital, rather than being covered by my EM group.

What's the retirement and PTO like?

My old job had super high premiums for family coverage as well, luckily I covered only myself for cheap and my wife covered herself and the kids through her employer and it worked out.

Regarding the deductible and ulceratice colitis, it may actually be beneficial for you to do high deductible if you are on a biologic medication. The copay assistance through those companies will cover your deductible, and you get the benefit of paying lower premiums and access to HSA saving taxes. The trick is not to use your insurance otherwise from Jan 1st until your first injection.

3 hours ago, AbeTheBabe said:

What's the retirement and PTO like?