Deferred Judgment/Adjudication and CASPA question

Long story short I got a trespass ticket after I got kicked out of a bar for not wearing a mask while walking around the bar, it was my first ever run in with the law aside from traffic tickets, I got deferred judgment. On CASPA when it asks have you ever plea guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor, Im wondering if after the trespass is off my record should I still answer yes to that question. 

And while Im here I meet all other requirements to get accepted to most schools, solid science and overall GPA, 2000+ hrs of direct pt care hrs and so on. Will a ticket like that seriously hurt me getting in? And has anyone been in my shoes before, is it common, am I screwed? Tell me honestly...

Well, I'm no lawyer but...

I believe that "deferred judgement" means you pled guilty to a misdemeanor but the sentence (if any) was deferred to give you a chance to show you weren't a troublemaker. So, yes, you pled guilty to a misdemeanor and  -- if it was not expunged -- then you should admit to it. In any event, this was during the pandemic so it wasn't in the deep past. 

IMHO, it shouldn't be a big deal for your application. 

You could contact the jurisdiction and find out what the official disposition was. If not expunged, I suspect it's on your record. A great story someday for your kids when they screw up. (They'll probably want to know what a mask was for.)

• Like 1