Low GPA but a lot of experience!!!

Hi, everyone, I hope someone can help/advise me with my dilemma. I'm an undergraduate student in Florida as well as a Medical Assistant. I would like to become a PA but I don"t know if my GPA its going to help me. I used to to have 3.33 but it went down to 2.64. Right now I'm a Biology major but I feel like that major requires more class that I really need for a PA school. My advisor suggested that I switch to Health Science Major. Please help, what should I do, I do not know anything about Health Science Major.

I graduated Liberal Arts Health Science from this college. Heres some information http://www.brockport.edu/healthsci/index.html

I used to be a Biology major too until I realized the major didnt consist of what my interests were. Yes it requires a lot more science and lab than is actually required for PA school, but if you do well in this major PA programs will look favorably at your ability to do well in hard sciences. I found my interest was more in the health sciences and Brockport is where I finished my last 32 credits in one year. A great school I think, and a rewarding degree too. Look into it.

PS my opinions on such matters of PA programs are totally subjective, just my opinions from what I have learned or heard from others.

Good luck to you!

Guest hubbardtim48

You will need a strong science background made up of upper division classes (i.e. immuo, genetics, molecular bio, orgo I/II, biochem, pharm, etc) to prove to the committee that you can get through PA school. I would not switch to an easier major, but could switch to a different science major (i.e. molecular bio, chem., biochem.,). It will not behoove you to go to an easier major and will not look good to the committee. Keep up the hard work and if you have to work part time then so be it. It will be better in the long run. Good luck!