How to get a LOR from a PA

I am having trouble finding a PA to build a relationship with in order to get a LOR. Most schools require or at least prefer a letter of rec from someone in the medical community and it seems like from a PA would be an ideal. The problem is I don't know any PA's. I am a first generation student and I am the first in my family to go into the medical field. I don't have any medical providers in my family, as family friends, or anywhere in my network.

It seems like the obvious option would be to shadow a PA. While I am willing to do that, I don't know if a PA that I've shadowed 50 hours will know me well enough to write a good LOR, not just some generic letter. The other option would be to become a scribe. My problem with that is that most scribe companies require some contract, typically 1-2 yrs depending if employment is full time or part time. I wanted to work full time in a hospital in order to get better PCE, but I'd be willing to do it part time if it meant working part time as a scribe but I don't know how I feel about signing a two year contract.

I guess I am just asking for some advice on what to do. Is shadowing 50+ hours enough time to build a solid relationship with a PA? Should I sign a contract and become a scribe?

Guest HopeToBePAC

I don't think it would be in your best interest to get a LOR from a PA you've only shadowed 50 hours. It's just not enough time to for them to get to know you well enough to write a strong LOR. If you can get >100 hours shadowing then I would say it might be okay, so maybe try and shadow them more? Because becoming a scribe just for a LOR probably isn't the best option either.