Upper Level vs Lower level Genetics

I'm a rising undergraduate junior and I'm wondering if PA schools really scrutinize and look at whether you take upper level or the lower level classes. For instance, my school offers two classes of Genetics, one upper level and one lower level. I know taking the upper level is better, but I heard the professor is very bad, while the lower level teacher is stellar. I don't want my GPA to take a hit from a class thats not like A&P or Chem (in which I WOULD talk the upper level).

What do you guys think?

I would be surprised if anyone noticed. The factors that go into what makes something "upper" level versus "lower" level largely depends on how an institutions registrar has chosen to allocate course numbers and credits. A 100 level genetics course might be equivalent to another school's only 200 level genetics course or something. 

I would just be more concerned that the class fulfills the necessary number of credit hours. 

My school required at least 5 "upper level" science classes, so 300/400 level in addition to the other science pre-reqs (like micro, chem, bio).  I was able to easily meet that with my Bachelor's degree though.  It'd be good to check the requirements of schools that interest you.  However, upper vs lower won't affect your GPA - CASPA will calculate your science and overall GPA.

Also keep in mind that if the school offers two versions, it's possible the lower level genetics course is not meant for biology majors; this could be a sticking point for schools that require prerequisites be those meant for science majors. Personally, I would advise you to take the upper level course since it is guaranteed to be accepted by all schools, but I do understand the desire to protect your GPA as well.