Career Change at 30

Hello all!

I'm really glad I found this forum. I found a lot of stories like mine so it's inspired me to keep my head high. I just turned 30 and graduated last weekend with an Associates of Applied Science in IT. I graduated with a 3.7 GPA and sometime in the last couple years my thoughts on life and careers have changed. I've spent the past 3 years working as an IT Systems administrator for my state government (Tennessee) and I currently make good money (50K a year) I'm good at my job, and was lucky to fall into this position since I pretty much got in because I was in school and I've been working on computers for the past 10 years as a hobby. Before going into IT I worked as a 911 dispatcher. Eever since I got into IT work I feel like I'm missing something. When I was a dispatcher I made very little money but every day when I got home I was happy because I knew what I was doing made a difference and I felt like my purpose in life was to help people (I know this sounds cheezy) I've always felt that no matter what career I choose it nees to be in some type of public service where I'm able to help people.

Around 7 years ago I looked into RN school but never really saw myself doing that. Well I ended up getting hurt, had no insurance, and had a friend of a friend who was a PA. My friend got me in tough with the PA and the PA called me and talked to me, and told me to come into the office and he'd work with me. I live in a small town and this particular PA helps a lot of people in our town and another small community close by. A lot of the people are uninsured, elderly with not much money and he helps everyone. That's what makes me want to do this. I'm not worried about striking it rich, I would love to work in a small town, I would love to help give back and help people just like he did for me and does for his patients.