Past Academic History=TROUBLE??

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on the forum so I apologize if this isn’t in the correct spot. My question pertains to how admissions look at unique academic situations and the risks of mentioning mental health...

In 2013 I started my academic journey as a non traditional at the age of 22. I enrolled in C.C. part time as I was working 6 days a week at the time minimum 50 hr. work weeks.  From the beginning I had no real direction in what I wanted to do (enrolled because girlfriend at the time suggested it). At the time I was making great money in the aerospace industry, so I think going in I had the attitude of why am I even here? Shortly after enrolling I also started to show symptoms what I now know was severe anxiety. I went to the doc., who then suggested me to a physichiatrist and before I knew it I was on SSRI/SNRI antidepressants to help combat these feelings I was experiencing. Well fast forward to 2016 after trying several different meds I was told were “helping” me, I decided I had to get off of them and get my life back. I understand antidepressants save people’s lives, but I’m my case I think they hindered my ability to be a hardworking driven member of society. I felt more like an emotionless vegetable more than anything else. Coming off them was a long drawn out process on its own. Maybe I’m just very sensitive to medication, but I have narrowed it down to being a major factor in my poor academic patterns. After getting off the anxiety meds, and going through what I went through, I had a clear vision that I wanted to work in health care. I started setting goals for mysel and taking responsibility for my actions. I feel like I have been making a strong come back