How to study during clinical year

How to study during clinical year

Hey everyone ! I have a lot of people reaching out to me on clinical rotations and how to study during this year. 

Every program is different , in my program as well as a lot of programs are known to have End of Rotations exam that are written by PAEA. 

Meaning we had state regulated exams for Family Medicine, Internal Medicine,   Emergency Medicine, General Surgery, Ob/Gyn, psychiatry, Pediatrics . 

The PAEA offers End of rotation exam blue prints which shows what topics you need to review for exam.

This adds a lot of pressure to your clinical year-- not only do you need to prepare for clinic and your preceptor but you need to prepare for this exam. 

So here are some tips on how I studied and stayed on top of my study material during Clinical year 

* Always carry your IPAD ( in my program we were given an IPAD as part of the curriculum and we had our books , notes, and etc on the IPAD) 

* APPLICATIONS to have in your ipad : epocrates ( awesome app for medications , dosages , usages, contraindications, side effects etc), UP to date ( can look up pretty much any diagnosis, treatment plan, diagnostic studies and get the most current information) LAB values app ( will show you lab references and what it means if those labs  are high or low) medscape ( i liked this app because it would show everything for any given diagnosis such as etiology, epidemiology, pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, diagnostic studies, treatment plans etc).

*always carry a notebook and pen -- I would like to write quick hit notes on the patients I saw without violating any HIPPA regulations 

So for example-- 42 year old female, Chief complaint : cough, then I would write  my physical exam findings, note what the diagnosis ended up being and the treatment.  That way I could review the patients and cases I saw that day, If for whatever reason I didn't understand something I could study it .