Questions and concerns! Need Advice/Answers

Hello I have a few concerns that I would like to address and hopefully find some answers to. I am currently a student at the University of Michigan and will graduate with a degree in psychology in April. While attending the University of Michigan I played basketball all four years. I was an Academic All-Big Ten selection every year and also was an All American for the past 3 years (http://mgoblue.com/roster.aspx?rp_id=14044). I have decided upon graduating that I want to go back to school to take the prerequisites for p.a school as well as complete the HCE hours. During my time at Michigan I did not take many of the science prerequisites because basketball took up a large amount of time and I did not want it to hurt my GPA. I know it will take me about 2 years to complete all of this, but I was wondering if it would look bad if I took these classes at a local community college( I do not want to pay 60,000 to attend another year at Michigan since my scholarship is up)? Also, I was wondering if athletics will have any positive effect when I do submit my application for p.a. school? Additionally, I would have great LOR. Thank you so much for your time and help

No there is nothing wrong with doing you prereqs at a community college, this is fairly normal. Of course if they are from a 4 year institution like Michigan they might look slightly more favorable but not much. I do think being an NCAA athelete helps as it shows dedication and extremely good time management skills. The only thing to be wary about with CC classes is most will only go up to 200 level classes, some school require upper division science coursework. Which typically is 300 or 400 level classes.

Congratulations! I went to the U of M for engineering grad school decades ago; great school!