Shadowing during interview- help

Hello,

I am travelling out of state next week for a job interview. It does seem that since I am out of state they are trying to fit what would probably be multiple interview sessions into one day. The last part of the day I will spend several hours shadowing. I am wondering what is expected during this portion. I'm a new grad, with 6mos experience in my field. The interview is for the same position just in a different hospital/state. So my question is should I use this opportunity to wow them and show them what I know? Or should I just show up, be interested, but not give my opinion on anything?

Also, this is more of a question of attire, should I wear my interview suit during the shadowing? Take off the jacket and seem more relaxed or is it likely they will give me scrubs? It is in ICU.

Or am I just over thinking this all? I'm excited and really don't want to blow it.

Thanks in advance.

I would suggest just staying in your suit unless they offer your scrubs.  I went on an interview once for CT surgery and was shown to the locker room to change and step into the OR for a moment.  

I would ask basic questions and be interested.  Questions about the key players on the team, work flow, procedures, etc.  I would refrain from giving medical opinions unless you are specifically asked.  You kind of need to feel out your audience to determine if is appropriate or not.  If you’re with a laid back doc/PA you could say “I had a patient like this once and I did ABC” or you could have a doc who is the only one that is right and your opinion should be kept to yourself.  

Wear your suit. If it's inappropriate attire they will outfit you correctly.