Pre-PA Advice

Hi Everyone, I graduated a couple years ago with a bachelors degree in Biology and completed all of the prereqs for PA school. I’m thinking about going back to school again to become a PA. However, I am unsure about my ability to practice clinically after graduation. Classroom learning and shadowing can be very different from succeeding on the job as a working PA. Is there a job I can take on before PA school where I can test out my ability to diagnose and handle stress in a medical situation? I’m looking at CNA, PCT, and MA, and I’m open to any other ideas. Thanks!

I am sure a lot of people feel the same way.  Every job has different stressors and amount of stress.  I was only just accepted into PA school so I can not say for sure, but I would assume that it varies among the various PA specialties etc.  However, if you are looking for a stressful job to test the waters...I know one with copious amounts of turnover for various reasons; inadequate staff, high aquity patients, time restraints, shift length (have had many shifts of nonstop work for 16-17 hours, with only 15 minute lunch or less), physically demanding and get back and joint pain fast (some heavy patients out there), work load balance and many patients can be super ornery.  Hemodialysis technician.