Applying to PA school/ill parent

Hi everyone. I'm hoping someone can give me some insight on my particular situation. I graduated with a B.S. in biomedical sciences from a state school in May 2016 and have been working as a medical scribe to get my hours as well as volunteering. Everything was on track, however in September my mom was diagnosed with advanced lung cancer and I am now struggling to decide between applying to PA school this upcoming cycle or if I should wait. She is currently on a medication that could extend her time frame, which can be anywhere from one year to many years depending on how well she responds to treatment. I know she would want me to continue on with my education and to see me succeed, however I worry about not being able to be there for her when it gets bad. I would only apply to schools within a 45 minute driving distance so I can come back home often or live at home. 

I know how demanding PA school can be and I know it will take up most of my time, time that is now very precious to both me and my family. However I also know that once she is gone, I need to have something to keep me going. At first I totally put everything off and put PA school on the back burner, however now that I am re-thinking it I am completely torn on what to do. What I am concerned about is the support I will receive from the school, and how much the mental/emotional toll may take on my performance in classes. She is my biggest support system and I know it will be very difficult if and when things get bad while trying to complete my schooling. Does anyone think it would be a good idea to speak with someone from the admissions office directly about my situation? Any opinions or insight would help a lot. Thanks. 

Hey Slamm,

I'm sorry to hear of your Mother's diagnosis. I'm sure it has been very tough to cope with.