Advice on PA Route

Hello!

I'm a first generation college student and I am wanting to go down the PA route. I'm a little lost and discourage, I don't know where to begin and my GPA is at a 2.8. I am working hard to get it up but I am trying to find alternative routes to get to PA school (Just in Case). I am very active on campus with different health organizations and as well as my fraternity. My GPA is suffering mainly because I'm not sure how to study and get bad test anxiety. I have been seeing and academic coach to get me on the right path and help me address these issues. Any advice would be super helpful. I been looking in to a PA school in my hometown and the GPA requirement is a 3.0 and I will be touring the school to get a feel for it.

I also have a few questions.

I was wondering if I could take my prereqs after graduation at a community college back home?

What entrance exam would I have to take for PA school. (GRE or something along those lines?

Also any advice would mean the world to me. I feel lost and I just need a push in the right direction.

You can do it! People get accepted into pa school with lower GPAs everyday. Technically as long as the school is accredited you can take your prereqs at community college! I myself never took prereqs at cc so I am not sure if programs look at them the same but you can easily call the programs you are interested and ask if it matters! However, I did take extra courses at a cc as an easy way to boost my GPA! What year in undergrad are you? The more credits you have the more credits it will take to raise your gpa abobe a 3.0.

Next, I'd say study hard an ace the GRE (yes, its the GRE I like to explain it as a college level SAT) Study early and take it early in case you want to retake it! Id say at a minimum take it before CASPA opens at the end of April so you don't need to study and do your apps at the same time! I used the magoosh online study program and found it EXTREMELY helpful!