How to earn excellent letters of rec (from professors)?

I have a tendency to leave class as soon as it is done. I do not tend to build great relationships with professors. I have had a couple that seemed to like me for no clear reason -perhaps because I'm an older student at 26 (?). I've also had professors that acted indifferent toward me, even if I received a great grade and was an active participant in class.

I do listen well during lectures. In the more interesting classes, I will ask questions. However, there have been situations where a professor walked around the room to get to know students, and I came up short. I was the last one to leave lab one day and was furiously packing up to get out of there. Meanwhile, the professor had calmly begun walking over and asked me a question (don't recall what about - maybe about my plans). I answered curtly before thanking her and rushing out.

Oops.

I just never want to be the last one in lab, keeping the professor waiting around. And I have a weird anxiety about being one on one with professors...I don't stutter or sweat, but rather feel awkward and unsure of where to take conversation. I tend to be fine with my peers and am not uncomfortable about having to speak with them. I've worked in food service and as a personal trainer where I was able to communicate well with customers and with clients.

So again, how can I work on my relationships with my professors from here on out and work toward those outstanding letters of recommendation? I suppose I'll need 2-3 from professors. I still have quite a few science courses to take (O Chem, Physics, Form&Function in Bio World, 1 qtr Calc, and 1 qtr Stats) before transferring for about 30 units of upper division courses, so I still have a chance.

What are your class sizes like? What is the culture of your college like?