IC vs. W2

First, thank you all in advance for your answers.

I am beginning a PA program this fall. I'm an older student (45) and am coming from a hospital lab background. A company that I co-own provides short term contract staffing for several hospitals in the area so I am very familiar with both the challenges and benefits of working as an IC vs. W2 employee in healthcare.

First, I am located in Texas. Is it easier to find a IC position than W2 in your experience? I would prefer to maintain that status after school if possible because of the way the business and my personal assets are currently structured.

Second, those of you that do work IC are licensure, malpractice, etc. business expenses paid as part of the contract or are they typically business expenses incurred by you?

Finally, What range of compensation would I be expecting as a new graduate for an IC position? I know that is a complex question based on specialty, metro vs. rural, etc. It is my intent to stay in rural areas.

Again, thank you for your help!

I've worked PT in an UC as a 1099 contractor to supplement my FT W2 ED job.  PT job was hourly only, no benefits, expense $'s for license (it was in a different state than my primary license).  I explored other 1099 work and found it the same elsewhere.  1099 work was hourly only.   A staffing firm would pay some travel or lodging expenses, but nothing else.

I work mostly 1099 and get no benefits, but I get about 20% more hourly pay.  I almost went full time to a W-2 job once (nice boss begged me to come full time and help), but after I did I found out they only offered 1 week off PTO.  Quickly converted back to part-time there (and then dropped myself from schedule) and went back to 1099 so I could control my own schedule.